Are You Leaving Any Trace?

Are You Leaving Any Trace?

We all know that Social networking service Facebook tracks you even when you are not using the application. For example, the products you shop on other apps, the news you read, or any other activity you do on your phone. The Application showed the world how much it knows about the person. It reminded us of a reality programme where the cameras are always on and record each activity.

In a new feature called ‘off-Facebook Activity’, you will be able to see a summary of the third-party websites and apps that share your visit history with Facebook. You can also manage and clear this information from your Facebook account if you do not want to share it.

This feature or you can call it as a tracker will show the data of approximately 180 days which Facebook collected from several organisations and advertisers. Facebook uses this information to target you with ads, a business model that is now worth billion dollars. That is why, after you visit this fashion e-commerce website or app, you will likely see an ad for it in your Facebook News Feed. 

“Other businesses send us information about your activity on their sites and we use that information to show you ads that are relevant to you. Now you can see a summary of that information and clear it from your account if you want to,” Mark Zuckerberg wrote in the blog post. 

There is nothing to be shocked or surprised as this is not the first time Facebook is interfering in our personal lives. For many years the company has been partnering with the websites to gather the information and target the customers.

The other interesting thing is that this feature is buried behind lots of settings menus

How to access the off-Facebook Activity tool

1. Go to Settings in your Facebook app. 

2. Scroll down to your Facebook information.

3. Choose Off-Facebook Activity.

4. From here, you can see how many interactions you had with an app or a website. 

You can also download the details of your activity by just clicking on the number of interactions and Download Activity Details at the bottom of the popup. 

And if you are not comfortable with what Facebook is doing and you want to stop adding the data to your profile then also you have to inform the company. On the “Off-Facebook Activity” page, go to “Manage Future Activity.” Click that, and then click the additional button named as “Manage Future Activity.” Toggle off the button next to “Future Off-Facebook Activity” and turned it off. 

Turning off your off-Facebook activity will mean losing access to apps and websites you have used Facebook to log in to in the past.

Trending Now